Tom Saunders Avenue, Red Hill, Gulgong, 2852
Open Daily 1.00 pm to 3.00pm
Except major public holidays
Feel it. Hear it. Learn it.
Gulgong Gold Experience is located on Red Hill Mining Precinct where gold was first found and is open daily for visitors and locals to explore.
On 2 April 1870, Tom Saunders discovered gold on Red Hill and so began what has often been referred to as, ‘the last of the poor man’s gold rushes’. By June of that year 500 people were on the Gulgong gold fields and by 1872, when the first official census was taken, it was estimated that the population of Gulgong and its satellite villages was approximately 20 000.